My Experience After One Year of Going Full “EV”

The good, the bad and the ugly of electric driving

Jason Deane
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo: Author with ‘his and her’ EV6s. The GT-Line (left) and fully spec’d (right) GT-Line S models

I’m not sure why, but I’d always wanted to go electric.

Like most blokes, I’ve always loved cars. So much so that I even decided to become a racing driver last year at the age of 52, getting my racing license and completing my rookie season with a respectable 25th out of 51 entrants in the 2023 Nankang City Car Cup Challenge.

But that’s a story for another day.

The truth is that until a few years ago I hadn’t been able to afford the luxury of an electric vehicle. Well, at least not one that I actually wanted anyway. But as my situation changed in 2020 onwards, it finally became a serious consideration.

Of course, the fact that the UK government had introduced an incentive scheme (whereby if you bought a brand new electric vehicle through your company, you could, in simple terms, offset the entire cost against tax in the first year) may also have been an influence.

Having both a company and some profits I’d rather not hand over tax for at that time, I decided that this was the moment. But where to start?

Buying our electric car

--

--

Jason Deane
The Partnered Pen

I blog on things I am passionate about: Bitcoin, writing, money, life’s crazy turns and being a dad. Lover of learning, family and cheese. (jasondeane@msn.com)