Licensed from Canva

My Life Is A Hamster Wheel And I Feel Compelled To Keep Running

Will someone get me off this stupid ride?

Published in
3 min readDec 7, 2019

--

I’m not sure how I got here. One moment I’m just trying to be an adult and the next I’m in this endless cycle of boom and bust. One bill is payed and then an emergency comes up. Then more hours are worked to cover the emergency. But here comes that utility bill. Then hours get cut and I need another job to pay those surprise fees.

Around and around and around and around I go, where I stop — actually I don’t think this stops until I’m dead.

Licensed from Canva

How is there time for kale smoothies or morning yoga when life’s little expenses pile up? How does anyone mediate in their sun rooms when worries hiss like a tea kettle calling them to pay attention. 2019 is almost over and I’ve never felt so stressed.

Our successes mean little when the standard of living keeps getting higher. Good careers choices or, in many cases, more jobs are available in big cities. But for those of us working hourly this just means we are paying more for rent, transportation, entertainment, and pretty much everything

--

--

Writer interested in love, self, creativity, and chocolate.