Photo by rebcenter moscow from Pexels

Network Marketing Ruined My Life

But I’d still choose to do it again

Athirah Syamimi
Published in
3 min readJun 10, 2019

--

My mum passed away during my Polytechnic graduation year. While my friends thought about which University to go to, I was thinking about what job to get to earn more money. I needed to help my dad and raise my younger siblings.

So, when an unlimited income opportunity came, I dove right in. I paid $300 for the starter’s kit, attended multiple training sessions and went to numerous networking events.

I did what most amateur network marketers do: burn bridges by poaching friends to join me.

Here’s a quick rundown of what I’ve learnt in a year:

  1. I’m a terrible salesperson
  2. People can see through you very easily so don’t even try to lie
  3. “Fake it till you make it” is a terrible advice

I’ve also picked up a number of skills like cold calling and networking. All in all, I’ve failed terribly in network marketing but I learnt a whole lot from it too.

Although I didn’t earn much from my career, the lessons learnt were worth it.

I’d say that 2 years of experience in network marketing widened my outlook in life.

--

--

Athirah Syamimi
The Partnered Pen

Writing about life, side hustling and content creation.