Not All Thin People Are “Fat-Shamers”

Assholes come in many forms.

Sherry McGuinn
The Partnered Pen

--

Source: Flickr.Com

I just read a long and rather rambling piece from a writer on this platform talking about how “so many thin people” unwittingly (or purposefully), heap emotional abuse on fat people, out of love.

As a thin person, I am offended at being put into a box. Offended at the stereotypical viewpoint that all thin people are disgusted by those who are obese or morbidly so.

I call “bullshit.” First off, I have never, nor would I ever, either verbally, or with my prose, make an overweight person feel bad about themselves. And, I don’t know anyone in my personal circle who would. Moreover, I wouldn’t have any in my personal circle, who would behave in such a manner.

Frankly, I don’t give a damn what someone weighs. Human beings come in all shapes, sizes and colors. And, that’s a beautiful thing. Certainly, when I see someone who is so overweight that they’re struggling, I am concerned for their health, but I keep it to myself.

Is being empathetic synonymous with being abusive? If so, I’ve been fucking up for a long time.

Several of my friends and family members are overweight. Would I ever think of gifting them with diet books or calling them out for their…

--

--

Sherry McGuinn
The Partnered Pen

Long-time writer and big-time dreamer. Screenwriter. Cat mama. Red lip aficionado. sherrymcguinn@gmail.com