Should Mothers Ditch Grandmothers on Mother’s Day?

Modern sentiment seems to be that Mother’s Day is for young mothers, and grandmothers need to bow out.

Bebe Nicholson
The Partnered Pen

--

Don’t young moms in the trenches deserve Mother’s Day to themselves? Photo from author’s collection

When my kids were young, we usually went to my mother’s house on Mother’s Day. She didn’t request or demand a visit. One year she said, “You’re a mother now, so this is your day. Do whatever you want.”

We went to her house despite what she said, because that was what I wanted to do. Piling the kids in the car and going to grandma’s was a lot easier than entertaining them at home. Staying home meant playing with my kids or finding other ways to amuse them, because young children demand every ounce of your time and attention.

At my mother’s, I could sit on the front porch and talk with her while they entertained themselves. An added bonus was that she cooked the meal.

Many times, we went to my mother’s first, then drove another hour to my mother-in-law’s house, which made for a full Mother’s Day and tired but happy children.

When we moved to a different state and couldn’t visit, I sometimes sent a gift, flowers, or a card. But whether I sent anything or not, I always phoned.

My own children have taken a different approach to Mother’s Day. My daughter prefers to…

--

--

Bebe Nicholson
The Partnered Pen

Writer, editor, publisher, journalist, author, columnist, believer in enjoying my journey and helping other people enjoy theirs. bknicholson@att.net