Sorry if I Offend You, but Good People Are Everywhere

In a hate filled society, we’re only seeing half of the world

Dawn Bevier
The Partnered Pen

--

Image by cottonbro on Pexels

Maybe it’s because I’m highly sensitive that I can barely stomach a tweet these days.

Now, don’t get me wrong.

There are inspiring comments on Twitter, but when someone gets on the hate tweet train, the twittering is so loud it sounds a little like Hitchcock’s The Birds.

All men are dogs. Five hundred retweets and seventy-eight comments.

All cops are assholes. Five thousand retweets and two hundred and fifty comments.

Women focused on looks or fitness are shallow and vain, willfully choosing to play into the patriarchy. Two thousand hearts, fourteen hundred retweets, and six hundred comments.

And I feel genuinely sorry for these people who join the hate brigade. I empathize with those who live in the regions of anger or hate — both in their online and “real life” interactions.

After all, there must have been events so traumatic and experiences so painful it skewed their perceptions of the world.

And I’ve been a lucky woman who’s avoided the pain or trauma of things such as rape, domestic violence, poverty, or discrimination.

--

--