The Balance of Darkness

An Excerpt from 4:00 AM Faith

Laura McDonell
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo by Louei Mups on Unsplash

“Would you rather have it be light out all the time, or dark all the time”? Explain your thinking.

This is a journal prompt I have asked students throughout the years. I get such a variety of answers that illustrate the advantages and disadvantages of constant light and darkness.

One of my favorite things about darkness, is that you can really enjoy Christmas lights.

In darkness there there can be beauty and there is always some light, even if it is the smallest flicker. I enjoy knowing that each day brings a balance of light and darkness when it is expected to appear.

However, the tough thing is when darkness shows up in life unannounced and we don’t know when the light is coming back. Darkness can go on for a long time.

We cannot comprehend God’s balance of darkness and light in our lives, but what we can be assured is that light will always follow darkness- even if it takes a really long time.

--

--

Laura McDonell
The Partnered Pen

I am a wife, mother, educator, writer, reader and marathon runner. I blog at https://findyourformula.blogspot.com/ Follow me on Twitter at @lmcdonell14