The Death of a Loved One

Don’t wait. Express your love today.

Karen karen
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo by Karim MANJRA on Unsplash

It’s Sunday, and as I’m happily playing with my kids telling stupid jokes, and talking about life, my phone rings with a Whatsapp message from my older sister.

She finally took a week off and went on a memorable vacation. I didn’t know cruise ships in the middle of the ocean had wifi.

Did you hear?

Hear? What?

It’s sad.

What happened?

It was sudden.

Ok, tell me already.

But she took her time telling me. Several short messages as if to ease me into the news. Then she got to the point.

N.

My heart sunk down to the center of the earth.

N. is gone.

My inner floodgates burst uncontrollably as I read the line over and over.

I felt my life shatter like broken glass, and I saw my girls at a loss as they watched me stare at the phone.

No one moved for what seemed like several minutes. They whispered something to each other. Yes, mamma’s crying — although I held it in, facial expressions don’t lie.

--

--

Karen karen
The Partnered Pen

Writer. Avid Traveler. Translator. Be yourself. Own your future. What’s your feeling today? selfsenses.com