It’s dog eat dog out there. Photo by Jay Heike on Unsplash

The Importance of Being Nice

Think the Nice Guy Finishes Last? Not Today.

Jason Deane
The Roundabout
Published in
7 min readNov 11, 2019

--

This story wasn’t on my scheduled list today, but it happened to me just a few hours ago and immediately superseded my planned piece about something entirely unrelated. It’s a wonderful lesson in why being nice, or at least respectful, to other people is so important.

I’d taken the kids to a local retail park in my nearest, but ghastly, big town called Reading in Berkshire, UK. More precisely, we’d gone to a big retail park just outside and positioned right next to the local football ground (that’s ‘soccer’ for you Americans, although the rest of the world still steadfastly calls it ‘football.’)

The car park traffic was terrible. I’d never seen it so bad on any of my previous visits. Spaces were at a premium, horns were honking, windows were going up and down with entirely unimaginative insults being hurled around like verbal smart bombs, not only hitting their intended targets, but taking out innocent families with small children coming out of the toy shop the chaos was unfolding in front of.

Seriously, if you ever want to see human kind in it’s ugliest form, go to a busy car park.

Luckily for me, I was in no hurry whatsoever. I had no meetings to get to, no chores to complete within any particular timescale and no…

--

--

Jason Deane
The Roundabout

I blog on things I am passionate about: Bitcoin, writing, money, life’s crazy turns and being a dad. Lover of learning, family and cheese. (jasondeane@msn.com)