The Kids Meal Diet: How to Cut Costs, Calories — and Acid Reflux?

Why some adults prefer child-sized portions: Everything in moderation? When less means more

Joseph Serwach
The Partnered Pen

--

Image by Fortepan via Wikimedia Commons.

Americans love spicy food. Finally, my doctor said to cut (or minimize) basically every meal I love. Doctor’s orders: Smaller, less acidic portions.

“No wonder Americans can get so nasty,” I thought. “A lot of our food and drinks are chock full of acid.”

The doctor said I could have one cup of coffee (but no more). Alcohol, soda pop, and tea were also on the “bad” list, along with just about every spicy, fried, meaty meal I adore. So I shifted to soup, salads, and blander fare.

Within 40 days, I lost nearly 20 pounds eating “safe stuff.” Doctors don’t like too much weight loss (or too much of anything). “Everything in moderation,” they say, a little of this, a little of that. So we started experimenting…

How we stumbled onto the Kids Meal diet…

While traveling, my bride suggested we stop at McDonald’s, where she got a fish sandwich meal. I knew I couldn’t have my standard Big Mac (too much now), so I imagined trying Chicken McNuggets for the first time in decades…

--

--

Joseph Serwach
The Partnered Pen

Story + Identity = Mission. Leadership Culture, Journalism, Branding Education. Inspiration: Catholic, Polish. https://serwachjoe.medium.com/membership