The Secrets to Good Decision-Making: Balancing Logic and Emotion

The truth is you need both of these strong-willed friends to get the life you want

Dawn Bevier
The Partnered Pen

--

Image by Rawpixel on Pixabay

As a teacher, I am the master of my own little kingdom. It’s a wonderful perk sometimes, but its also a struggle. Why? When you’re in charge, you are the one people look to for direction. And there are so many decisions that need to be made on a daily, weekly, and more long-term level.

What should I teach? How should I teach it? When should I teach it? I taught it, and they don’t “get it,” now what?

In addition, almost seventy children every day come to me with deficiencies in academics and personal problems that impact both their home and school life. The decisions I make on how to handle my classroom and each delicate child that enters it could shape both their education and their personal lives in a profound way. And I am exhausted from the effort of making these decisions.

But, I know I’m not alone in my struggles.

As professionals, as parents, as marriage partners, and as individuals trying to live our best lives, no one is immune to the psychological term known as “decision fatigue.”

As a matter of fact, in Entrepreneur’s article “9 Ways to Combat Decision Fatigue,”…

--

--