This Year No One Goes Home

Burning Man 2020 has been canceled

Remington Write
The Partnered Pen
Published in
8 min readApr 15, 2020

--

Sunset in Black Rock City 2012 / Photo credit — Remington Write

After dithering for about a month too long, the Burning Man Organization (the B’org) finally and wisely decided against holding the event for the first time since 1986 because of our friend, the virus. That’s one hell of a run. Thirty-four years of managing the increasingly complex task of building a temporary city in a hostile environment for some of the biggest flakes on the planet is quite a feat. This would have been my eighth Burn and AleXander’s fourteenth. Or, as Burners have it, we’d be going home.

I have a complicated relationship with That Thing in the Desert, Burning Man.

My first time out was in 2011, the year that the event sold out for the first time, and for many long-time Burners that was the death knell of the “real” Burning Man (there have been many).

I was not one of those having a Come To Jesus moment my first time out to Burning Man. In fact, I seem to recall journaling that I wasn’t entirely sure I wanted to go back. The five-hour wait to get into the event that first time clued me…

--

--