Waves Crashing on the Shore

A poem

Estacious(Charles White)
The Partnered Pen

--

I live with a person who suffers from mental illness. The person is my daughter. Two years ago we received her diagnosis of bipolar disorder. We knew something was wrong because of her impulsive behavior but at the time we didn’t understand what was happening. She becomes a different child when her bipolar is triggered. The disrespect becomes acidic and her actions become detrimental. She disappeared from school several times last year. Searching for your 14-year-old daughter is a task I wouldn’t wish on any parent.

She tried to hurt herself several times. You cannot imagine what it’s like to watch your child struggle to the point of wanting to extinguish her own life. Watching our child saddled with a mental disorder, she didn’t ask for is heartbreaking. Still, in honesty, she is a victim of heredity. I have my issues with anger and depression, and when I go off, it’s like I’m another person.

She is currently being treated for depression and suicidal thoughts at this very moment. However, she came to us and explained how she was feeling. She told us she needed to be…

--

--

Estacious(Charles White)
The Partnered Pen

I am a southern writer and teacher living in the midwest. I focus on education, poetry, and fiction. I am an award-winning playwright. estaciousw1914@yahoo.com