Why Did Jesus Pick Such Losers to be his Disciples?

The disciples seemed fine at first, until their true personalities emerged.

Bebe Nicholson
The Partnered Pen

--

Jesus washing the feet of his disciples in the The Passion Play. Photo by author

Coming face to face with my own inadequacy happens a lot. I can name numerous instances when I’ve fallen short of the mark, although I don’t like to dwell on them.

Several of those instances occurred after my mother developed dementia and came to live with me. I remember one exasperating night when she refused to get out of her recliner and go to bed. Instead of cajoling her gently like I usually did, I got mad, left her in the recliner, and stormed off to bed. She slumped to the floor, where she slept all night.

Never in a million years would I have believed, prior to moving her in with me, that I would leave my mother to sleep on the floor all night. But I did, although I tiptoed over later and draped a blanket over her.

This was only one of many instances when I was impatient and upset but should have been kind and slow to anger. You can’t argue with someone who has dementia, and I knew this.

I’ve let friends and other people down, too. I’ve been critical when I should have been understanding, succumbed to gossip instead of speaking words of support, acted selfishly, lost my temper, and placed my own comfort and desires first…

--

--

Bebe Nicholson
The Partnered Pen

Writer, editor, publisher, journalist, author, columnist, believer in enjoying my journey and helping other people enjoy theirs. bknicholson@att.net