Why I’m Canceling My FlexJobs Subscription

It’s not them, it’s me

Kati Pierce
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo by Taylor on Unsplash

As a remote work advocate, I try to keep my finger on the pulse of all things remote, freelance, distributed, and agile. And a bunch of other terms for work from home. Something I’ve done longer than many startup Founders have been alive. Back when it was most often referred to as telecommuting.

A couple of years ago, I paid for a subscription to FlexJobs. I was in the market and figured it couldn’t hurt to have access to a curated list of companies hiring remotely. They sold me by posting jobs for anyone to see, but the company information was hidden behind their paywall of around $15 a month for access (less if you pay for 3 months or 1 year upfront). So I ponied up the cash.

Remote jobs that are full-time and part-time

Employee and freelance jobs

On-site jobs including flexible and alternative schedules

All professional, all vetted, all with a flexible work option.

— FlexJobs Perks

A Bit of History

FlexJobs was founded in 2007 in Boulder, Colorado by Sara Sutton Fell. A remote worker…

--

--

Kati Pierce
The Partnered Pen

Relationship, Travel, Work, and Humorist Writer | Entrepreneur | Biz and People Ops SME | Grandma