Why Instagram Stories are a Waste of Time

I look at them occasionally, I’ve tried a few of them myself, but I still don’t understand their purpose.

Brian Rowe
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo by StockSnap at Pixabay

Social Media is How I Start My Day

Trust me, I’m not proud of it.

When I wake up in the morning, the first thing I do is grab my phone and check my e-mails, and then I click on, always in this order, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

These opening minutes of my day are always 100% disappointing. There’s rarely anything of interest in my e-mail inbox at 7am. There’s nothing on Facebook to write home about. No Twitter messages or notifications to put a smile on my face.

Oh, and then there’s Instagram. The social media app I reluctantly joined a few years back. I’ve tried to invest a little time in it every day. I do love photography, and that element of the app is the part I enjoy. And it’s nice sometimes to see pictures of people I care about.

But the Part of Instagram I’ve Never Quite Understood are Instagram Stories.

These are, for me, the biggest waste of time in the world of social media. They’re a huge waste of time… that I click on every day, I grant you. But each time I…

--

--