Why is Scheduling So Hard?

Gretchen Lee Bourquin
The Partnered Pen
Published in
6 min readDec 27, 2023

--

Setting goals and making schedules is a scary thing, especially if the goals are pushing your comfort zone

Photo by Estée Janssens on Unsplash

This next year, 2024, is going to be the year that things happen. For various reasons they have to. In many ways I will be going into this next year in a better place than the last one, and certainly better than ones before, especially recent years. I have learned that “I will just work in my spare time on miscellaneous projects” does not happen. My no schedule freelancing dwindled when I started working part time. It didn’t just happen. The same goes for anything important that I have to twist my own arm to do, like exercising, or cleaning.

A couple of weeks ago, I decided that I would make a full fledge schedule. I will write things down, set up reminders, and in the new year I will be back on the horse, so to speak. I underestimated how tall the horse is, and how I am mentally blocking myself. Here are some strategies I am using to try to get past some of those blocks.

Start Safe

The first thing I put on my actual schedule was workouts. I have two half hour time slots on two mornings a week, and one every other Sunday, when I don’t work. The gym at my apartment complex is not too busy, and I only have to go for at least 10 minutes. I do what is familiar, and I am not pushing myself. That might change, but…

--

--