Why Little Women Matters

Watching Little Women (2019) with My Daughter

Jenny Justice
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo Credit, Author — with the girls watching Little Women, 2019

I believe I was my daughter’s age when I first read Little Women. And I remember being obsessed with it. It was life changing in that it gave me these really clear visions of what I wanted and who I wanted to be. This all came flooding back to me watching the movie, Little Women (Greta Gerwig, 2019) and watching my daughter (age 11) and her friend (age 10) watch the movie.

I admit, based upon what I know about my daughter, her friends, and kids today, I had a worry that they would be bored. And I was thrilled, beyond thrilled, to see them so into the movie. So into the characters. So into it all. They gasped, they screamed, they cheered, they cried. And so did I. About the movie, yes, but about these girls meeting these classic characters, with these meaningful story lines, and with no YouTube or Roblox or Game Apps in sight.

The reviews of this movie are accurate. It is the perfect movie. It has no wrong. It can do no wrong. It is the perfect movie. Casting, perfect, cinematography, perfect, acting, perfect, setting, perfect. And it was the perfect tribute and love letter to meaning of Little Women and it’s author, Louisa May Alcott. As a ride or die Little Women fan, I was absolutely mesmerized by this film, and by the impact it had on my daughter and her friend. This will…

--

--

Jenny Justice
The Partnered Pen

Writer| Mom | Poet | Book Nerd | Teacher? | Brings Poetry to life with empathy, connection, joy, justice, and feeling. Poetry Fangirl