Why You Should Never Say You’re a Good Writer

Instead of being simply a good writer, be a good writer who can become great

Ryan Fan
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo: Prostock-studio/Adobe Stock/CC BY-SA 4.0

A dirty little secret of mine is that I don’t think I’m a good writer. My writing credentials and big publications I’ve been able to get into might say otherwise, but I really don’t think I’m a good writer.

Most times when I read really good articles and good writing, I think “why can’t I write as well as this?” I start to question to myself “how can I do more of this?”

I don’t think I’m a good writer, and that has always been a big source of imposter syndrome, because I write. I’ve always written a lot. I expose my writing a lot for everyone to see.

But I’m not a good writer, and it’s always been something that other people have told me not to say, but I haven’t always felt.

I don’t think I read bad writing often

As a reader, I’m not always critical of writing that I read. I only am if there are many glaring grammatical writers or if I’m giving feedback, and even when I give feedback, I’m not that harsh and tend to be less critical than I should be.

One thing I have noticed recently, however, is when interacting with other writers and seeing them say “I’m a good…

--

--

Ryan Fan
The Partnered Pen

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.”