You Have Permission to Want More for Yourself

There’s no shame in having ever-evolving goals in life — we need to stop beating ourselves up for dreaming big.

Gillian Sisley
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo by Xan Griffin on Unsplash

I’ve been in a place of confliction for some time now.

I run a social media marketing business fulltime. But I’ve also been pursuing my career as a creative writer this year, which has been my dream career since I was a kid.

Recently, I’ve been taking deliberate steps to further my creative writing career.

I finished my debut novel, and sent queries to literary agents to see what could come of that. I’ve been writing on platforms like this one, crafting multiple personal essays a day, and supplementing a large portion of my income through this vehicle.

And yet, despite all of this growth and success, I find myself dealing with a substantial amount of shame and guilt.

While writing this article, I’m processing a conversation I had over coffee with a friend of mine that really opened my eyes to where all of this confliction is coming from.

I’m finally ready to let go of all of this shame and guilt.

--

--

Gillian Sisley
The Partnered Pen

Professional Storyteller working at Meta ♾️ Tea drinker. Insatiably curious. Writing about relationships, adventure & embracing vulnerability as a superpower ✨