Memories in the Attic

It’s a storage area but it’s also a time capsule and a time machine

--

There are people that will tell you that places don’t hold memories, that they’re stored in your head and in your heart, always with you.

It is true that we carry memories with us, but it’s also true that a place, an object, a song, or even a smell can act as a time machine, transporting us back to a time and place that we had thought was lost to the sands of time.

This happens when I return to my hometown or the city I called home for fifteen years or my alma maters, but it also happens much more frequently in my own home. One of the lesser talked about holiday traditions is actually retrieving all of the decorations that have been in storage since the prior year.

My wife is an elementary school teacher, so the house gets decorated for nearly every holiday. If it were up to me, once you’re inside you wouldn’t be able to tell if it was Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter, or the Fourth of July. Of course, opposites attract, so she decorates for all of those as well as Halloween, Valentine’s Day, St. Patrick’s Day, and others. Sadly, she doesn’t yet celebrate National Cleavage Day, but I’m still hopeful.

I’m the one with OCD, but my wife is meticulous and exact when it comes to storing decorations…

--

--

Christopher Pierznik
The Passion of Christopher Pierznik

Worst-selling author of 9 books • XXL/Cuepoint/The Cauldron/Business Insider/Hip Hop Golden Age • Wu-Tang disciple • NBA savant • Bibliophile