To My iPod

A love letter to my faithful companion

--

Dear iPod Classic,

You’re lying next to me as I type this, but it’s easier for me to write what I feel than it is to say it to you.

I just wanted to let you know that I value and appreciate you. You have now been by my side for a decade and although we’ve had a few rough patches (remember those dark times you said “iPod sync is complete” but there were actually no songs?), we’ve stayed together and I think our bond is stronger than ever.

I still remember the day we met. Ironically, my wife introduced us. She called you a “birthday gift” and bemusedly watched as I slid my fingers over your box before opening it up and revealing your gorgeous onyx complexion in the front and your behind with that unforgettable lower back tattoo: 160GB.

I had heard stories, but that night I discovered just how incredible your stamina was, being able to hold nearly 40,000 songs with no problem. Sometimes you need a break to recharge, but other than that, you’re always ready and willing. It doesn’t matter if it’s hip-hop or audiobooks or comedy albums. Regardless of what it is, you’re game. No days off. And for that I am grateful.

--

--

Christopher Pierznik
The Passion of Christopher Pierznik

Worst-selling author of 9 books • XXL/Cuepoint/The Cauldron/Business Insider/Hip Hop Golden Age • Wu-Tang disciple • NBA savant • Bibliophile