When Will I Feel Like an Adult?

Doing all of the things grownups do does not necessarily make one feel like a grownup

--

I am about to turn 38 years-old.

I have been married for over seven years.

I have a daughter that will be turning six this summer.

I believe it’s important to have a family dinner (almost) every night.

I am an uncle and a godfather several times over.

I have a master’s degree.

I have a career that is now more than a decade-and-a-half old.

I often think about retirement.

I live on a budget.

I clean the kitchen and pack lunches.

I cook.

I have a mortgage and two car payments.

I worry about property taxes and interest rates.

I (try to) fix things around the house.

I have random aches and my joints sometimes pop.

I go grocery shopping and curse myself if I forget the coupons or reusable bags.

I am stunned that aspects of my hometown have dared to change in the past 15 years.

--

--

Christopher Pierznik
The Passion of Christopher Pierznik

Worst-selling author of 9 books • XXL/Cuepoint/The Cauldron/Business Insider/Hip Hop Golden Age • Wu-Tang disciple • NBA savant • Bibliophile