Episode 13 — The (Product) Designer

“My mom had collected all the designs and art that I had done from 6th grade.”

Naga Subramanya B B
The Passion People Project
3 min readJun 12, 2017

--

“I’ve always loved geometry when I was in school”

There are some people like me who roam around the country in search of interesting people to meet and figure out what drives them. Maybe one of the reasons I am doing this is because I am afraid myself and I need some guidance. Meeting and getting inspired by wonderful people like Ameya is one of the ways to do it. But unlike me, Ameya has always known that he had an eye for detail, knew what he wanted and tried to figure out how to make things around him better.

What’s awesome is the fact that his mom caught this even before he did and started creating his portfolio from when he was just 12 years old.

Designer.

He always wanted to look and feel things. The owners of the fancy cars would not let him near them so he started collecting scale models so that he could touch and feel them without anyone shooing them away. Right now he has about 75 scale models.

He honed his skills by looking at these cars,sketching and figuring out his own versions of the designs.

“Looking at things with a different perspectives and angles allowed me to think of how I could make the existing designs better.”

Ameya has studied Engineering at the prestigious VJTI and then after a brief stint at Godrej where his presentations were selected to be shown to Mr. Godrej himself! (All this being a 2nd year employee) and then went on to IIT Bombay to study Design.

After being recommended to take up a hobby by his counselor, he picked up photography and fell in love with it. His hobby and his passion inform each other.

“I notice things through a frame that I had never done before. Starting Photography has allowed me to get a unique perspective and inform my design.”

To know more, do check out the rest of our interview on AudioBoom, iTunes Podcast, TuneIn and of Stitcher! :)

Click to tune in! :)

Every interview I do makes me feel fortunate and deeply grateful to get an opportunity to meet and learn from so many new wonderful people. This is only because I took a leap and dived into the unknown. The dive was inspired by posts that were made possible by the Medium Staff and the Medium platform.

If you are someone looking to start something similar, following your passion or just found this post interesting, get in touch!

Get in touch here:-

Ameya Surve

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/ameya.surve

LinkedIn — https://www.linkedin.com/in/ameyasurve/

e-Mailameyasurve2002@gmail.com

Podcast Curator Naga Subramanya

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/naaga

LinkedInhttps://www.linkedin.com/in/naga-subramanya-b-b-a9951411a/

e-Mail — naagasubramanya@gmail.com

Podcast Information:-

Interview by: Naga Subramanya B B, naagasubramanya@gmail.com

Recorded on: Rode SmartLav+

Recorded using: ASR Recorder for Android

Jingle Credits: Ivan Chew, Edited by Naga Subramanya

Recorded at: Hotel Swargarohini Palace, Sankri, Uttarakhand(Har Ki Dun Trek Basecamp)

Photo Edited on: Canva

What is your passion? Have you found it yet? Did you find this interview something you can relate to? We endeavor to bring people to take action and get inspired by listening to others who are doing the same and giving you a chance to interact with the people in the interview so that you can

You can also follow The Passion People Project for inspiring stories every fortnight.

Share this story with your friends on WhatsApp and Facebook!

https://www.facebook.com/thepassionpeopleproject/

--

--