Dump Microsoft Edge for Good

Subash Sarath Lakshmi
The PC ticking Time bomb
2 min readApr 12, 2024

I have had enough of this buggy program.

Logo of the Microsoft Edge browser

Ever since I got my Laptop two years ago, I subbornly stuck to the Microsoft Edge browser that came with Windows 11, only to realize what pain it has been in these last two years (yes, dumb me). My son was surprised I had moved to Edge from Chrome which was what I was using earlier on both my windows desktop and laptop. Edge would repeatedly hang and in the process even hang the laptop. After a while it would come back but then it would happen again after a period of going-fine. In fact it is the only program on Windows 11 that is so troublesome. Everything else seems fine. Also the browser keeps updating itself for God only knows why and why so frequently. I only blame my laziness but I was only wondering why I needed to add additional software on my laptop but I was wrong.

Another big disadvantage of using Edge is the opening page. Awash with countless articles and spinning ads you are most likely to fall for them and in the process forget why and what to search for in the search engine.

Just make sure to locate your saved passwords on the Edge browser to use them on the new one. And yes, what is the browser I recommend in its place? Google Chrome of course!

--

--

Subash Sarath Lakshmi
The PC ticking Time bomb

Software Programmer turned Technical Writer, Writer, Blogger, Trainer, spiritual seeker tyring to better my life and the lives of others via my writings.