When everything fails, try Firmware update

Subash Sarath Lakshmi
The PC ticking Time bomb
4 min readAug 22, 2021

If you have tried everything to fix a freezing SSD the culprit could actually be the Firmware on it.

Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

After the migration to Windows 10 in mid 2020 from Windows 7 (mind you, I used Windows 7 for almost 9 years without any major hassle) I did experience a couple of BSODs (Blue Screen of Death) but did not give it much thought. I would always reset the computer and it would work fine as usual. However about 5 days ago my computer was freezing up and the eventually the BSOD would tell me it was some hardware or storage issue. But the worst part was that after a reset the system wouldn’t recognize the boot disk (my SSD, a 10yr old Crucial M4, 60 GB) and wouldn’t boot. This was unlike the previous BSODs where I could easily boot and get into Windows. Then a stranger thing, I just have to remove the power supply connected to the SSD (of course with the system shut down) and then connect it back to the SSD, then boot the system and the PC is back. Sometimes disconnecting the SATA 6 cable also did the same thing, i.e booting up successfully. However the freeze would happen randomly again and it was back to square one. Frustration!

This is how I went about fixing the problem.

  1. First thing I did was to create a Windows Repair Disk. This can be done from within Windows 10 itself if you search for the Create Windows Disk or repair Disk or something similar and you’ll easily be led to the right options to create one on your 16GB USB Flash drive. Sadly this disk couldn’t fix the problem.
  2. Stopped Windows updates and even uninstalled recent updates. This didn’t fix the problem either.
  3. Changed the SATA cable connecting the SSD to the mobo but no luck again. Removed useless SATA connections such as a dead DVD drive. Even unplugged and reconnected all power ports.
  4. Updated three drivers (the Audio and USB) as suggested for Windows 10 by the motherboard manufacturer and D-Link the wireless transmitter. No change in the problem. Caution — There’s no need to install every driver for your mobo. Check your mobo manufacturer’s site for the same and that too for the specific OS, in my case Windows 10. For my mobo just two drivers were suggested. Also a good tool that checks if your PC needs a driver update is Intel’s, Intel Driver & Support Assistance app (if your PC is Intel based). If this app says your mobo is up to date, then you DON’T NEED TO update your Intel drivers.
  5. Did a BIOS update of the mobo. That didn’t fix the problem either. Swapping SATA ports on the motherboard also didn’t help.
  6. Finally removed the SSD and connected it to a newly built system that runs Manjaro Linux (my laptop currently runs on this distro and I cannot tell you what a wonderful move it was to Linux). On Linux I run a tool called the GSmartControl and checked the SSD. I couldn’t believe my eyes what GSmartControl reported in seconds. On the very first page it suggested a Firmware upgrade. It even explained the problem and even provided links to the manufacturer’s website and a discussion about the problem on Tom’s Hardware site which was exactly the problem I was having with my SSD. Just unbelievable! I was surprised to learn that the Firmware upgrade addressing this problem was released way back in 2013. Maybe beause I was using Windows 7 the problem never manifested.
  7. Instructions to perform the firmware update were clear and in no time I did the update on the SSD too. Just one word of caution, when you do the update, make sure you have uninterrupted power supply. This goes for the BIOS update on your motherboard too.

I am typing this post using the same desktop where the SSD’s firmware was updated. If you have a similar problem you now know what to do.

I can only say that it pays to keep your second/backup computer/laptop running Linux. You will not regret it.

By the way, the link to obtain the firmware update and download the instructions for my Crucial SSD is here.

31'st August, 2020, I made a video of the troubleshooting that you can watch here.

--

--

Subash Sarath Lakshmi
The PC ticking Time bomb

Software Programmer turned Technical Writer, Writer, Blogger, Trainer, spiritual seeker tyring to better my life and the lives of others via my writings.