Being Awesome

Rathiesh Narayanan
The Pen & Prose
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2023
Photo by Matt Collamer on Unsplash

I have opened my eyes,

At the first ray of sunlight,

Thinking and feeling,

How to be Awesome.

I feel Awesomeness is,

Fighting for humanity,

To raise your voice against war crimes,

Children losing their parents and homes,

I feel Awesomeness is,

To shout out that women are mothers, sisters, and goddess,

They should be treated equally,

They are not objects, an element of desire.

I feel Awesomeness is,

To satisfy everyone’s hunger,

Seeing the smile of the people,

We need to move together.

I feel Awesomeness is,

To be kind to other species,

Tend them with love and care,

As we are all equal in the eyes of the One.

I feel Awesomeness is,

To live in peace,

In this beautiful world,

Without any ego and jealousy,

Complimenting each other,

Motivating them ahead.

I feel Awesomeness is,

To be minimal,

To give others what you have,

Make this place better.

Photo by Timon Studler on Unsplash

With this thought, I get up,

To start my daily life,

To show the world that,

I am awesome.

I hear the cry of displaced souls,

Their war cries for have lost everything,

But I don’t care anymore,

Because,

I am awesome.

I hear the wailing of mothers and sisters,

Pleading- we are not objects or slaves,

We desire to live,

But I am deaf and move on…

Because,

I am awesome.

I see children begging in the streets

For one loaf of bread,

I yell at them and throw my food away,

Because,

I am awesome.

I see animals butchered,

Laying on the road bisected,

They howl and bark- “Give us our homes”

But for me, they don’t deserve to live,

Because,

I am awesome.

I am not happy seeing,

People with a good life,

How’s that possible- it can’t be,

Because only,

I am awesome.

I have a lot in me,

I don’t need to change this world,

It’s me and me only.

Because

I AM AWESOME…..

--

--

Rathiesh Narayanan
The Pen & Prose

Toddler in the world of writing. Benjamin in knowledge. An avid sports fan, movie buff and quizzer.