Soup

Rhea Upadhyay
The Perks Of Being A Listener
3 min readSep 26, 2017

Soups are, comparatively, uncomplicated to make. A well-made soup augments upon the hors d’eourves, and carries about into the composition, a fresh layer. As a result of most (by far not all) hors d’eourves being served cold, the soup acts, towards the diner, as a preparation for the calmly approaching hot courses. Similarly, going past serving into introduction the hors d’eourves of my 2-week-long incoming experience, this first step of mine acts as a producer of the fresh layer carried into composition.

___________________________________________________________________

When we are “listening” during our conversations occurring on a daily basis, what genuinely happens? Do we tend to perform a more exceptional listening job when we are well informed about the particular topic? I came across a partial book, and blog, by Jon White, regarding the actual advantage of, and further tips to work on, listening. According to his counter-intuitive discovery, he believes that it is more valuable to place foot into a conversation with the dilemma of performing an act of unfamiliarity. Well, when one is acquainted with the subject, there is an immense amount of information ready to be shared that it becomes difficult to hush personal thoughts. On the basis of chemistry, we can associate humans with being compensated with endorphins as soon as they speak about themselves. A busy brain clogged with things wanting to be spilled out of the mouth would probably permit the brain to have the conversation hijacked; This conveys that there will be a low probability that you will end up listening, while more apt to have words poured out of the biggest whole on your face.

When making an attempt to experiment this aspect of learning how to listen, I, instead, convinced myself that I knew literally nothing about the renowned football team, Atletico Madrid, when a mutual friend and I discovered that the sport was watched and played by both of us. Even though I wasn’t really interested, I assumed that I was honestly eager to interact with him because I absolutely wanted him to sense listened to. As I did not know anything about the team, I had no alternative but to meticulously listen to what he was saying, looking forward to asking him quite curious questions. Seeing that I was hardly distracted by the already present Atletico Madrid knowledge, although it was an immensely insane task to do, I was capable enough to attract my focus to what he was expressing, and manifest legitimate concern. I could make out that my unawareness made him feel good. By doing this chore, I definitely think I know how to make one feel listened to, in addition learning about my friend’s understanding and perspective of Atletico Madrid. So, in this case, the trick you should account for, to be increasingly inquisitive is to silent your brain, and perceive nothing regarding the respective matter. This uncommon procedure obligates you to be anticipated as curious, when you listen. Acting as the 2 slices of bread and cheese topped on the soup, you are, eventually, anticipated to be additionally consistent, compassionate, and shrewd.

___________________________________________________________________

References

White, J. F., & Taketa, A. (2014). What you don’t know about listening could fill a book. Irvine, CA: Jon White Consulting, Inc.

--

--