Home Is Where Your Driver’s License Is

A couple of years ago, I wrote about how “home” is a term we tend to over-simplify.

Amanda Kay Oaks
The Personal Essayist

--

At the time, I’d been living in Pennsylvania for three years, but resisting the one big change that would make the move feel final: updating my driver’s license.

Let me explain.

I moved here for grad school originally and never intended to stay. When I first visited the city, I hated it. But the MFA program I’d chosen lived here, and so, for two years at least, would I.

Photo by Guido Coppa on Unsplash

Pittsburgh and I warmed up to one another eventually, due in large part to the phenomenal park system with its sprawling green space in the heart of what otherwise feels to my rural-suburban heart like a massive city. After grad school, I decided to stay for a few months while hunting for a job… and to finish out the lease our landlord asked us to renew several months before it actually ran out.

Then, I got a job on an interim basis. In Pittsburgh. Another temporary reason to stay, for six more months, at least.

--

--

Amanda Kay Oaks
The Personal Essayist

Pittsburgh-based writer & wearer of many metaphorical hats. Making words about books, pop culture, witchery, health, travel, and more! She/her.