MEMOIR

My Extraordinary Fifth-Grade Year

My fifth-grade year will leave an indelible mark on my mind because of the events that transpired that year

B.R. Shenoy
The Personal Essayist
4 min readMay 18, 2021

--

Teacher with students pointing to countries on a globe
Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko from Pexels

“A truly great teacher is hard to find, difficult to part with and impossible to forget…” — Magdalena Walulik

My fifth-grade year was particularly memorable for a multitude of reasons.

It was the 1980s, and I had recently relocated from Brazil to the States. I was understandably apprehensive about being a new student at a public elementary school.

Teacher teaching students
Image by OpenClipart-Vectors from Pixabay

Ms. T

Fortunately, I was assigned a marvelous homeroom teacher, who, even to this day, remains one of my all-time favorites.

Her name was Ms. T, and she was patient, kind, and dedicated to her class. She genuinely cared about her students and took the time to get to know every one of them on a personal level.

She always looked fabulous and pulled together. She had great fashion sense, and the girls in the class would look up to her…

--

--

B.R. Shenoy
The Personal Essayist

Avid Globetrotter• Expat on 3 Continents•12x Boosted Writer•Editor:The Shortform• NewsBreak Writer•https://brshenoy.substack.com•M.S. Toxicology •Proud Mom of 2