How I Changed My Life In 90 Days

Mahdi Badjelmane
The Personal Growth Project
5 min readJan 4, 2023
Photo by Zac Durant on Unsplash

Three months ago, on September 27th, 2022, I discovered PROJECT50, a 50 days lifestyle challenge to improve your life.

Check their Instagram page here; you’ll find details about the challenge in the highlighted stories.

I wanted to participate in the challenge but wanted it to be more extreme, so I decided to create my own challenge, The Extreme Challenge.

Graphic Designed by Author

First, let me walk you through the results I got out of the challenge, and then I’ll give you more details about it and how to do it yourself.

My Results

First of all, those were my main goals:

  • Make $10K/Month by 2023.
  • Form 3 new habits.
  • Get in shape.

I know, I know, serious goals, especially the first one. But that’s what makes the challenge interesting and worth pursuing.

Those weren’t whatever goals; they were life-changing goals.

What I’ve Achieved

I achieved half of the goals I set, and that’s very good in my opinion, but I could have achieved more of course.

Why didn’t I accomplish more?

I’ll discuss that later when I tell you about my mistakes during the challenge.

Am I Making 10K/Month?

The short answer is NO.

But, I have a clear plan to do so. By the end of this year (2023), I’ll be making $10K/Month.

The Extreme Challenge accelerated my learning curve, experience, and progress toward the $10K/Month goal.

If the goal weren’t on the list, I’d be far from achieving it now.

Did I Form 3 New Habits?

The short answer is also NO; I formed two new habits.

Let me tell you why I didn’t achieve the 3rd.

It wasn’t a wise goal to put on the list; focusing on other goals took all my time and energy.

The habit I didn’t form was to document my life on a regular basis.

I wanted to start documenting my life on YouTube, but unfortunately, it takes a lot of time and resources to make one video, so I couldn’t make any (in the 90 days period).

I am thinking of documenting my life here on Medium by writing about my experiences, as it’s easier to write a story than make a YouTube video; I will see.

Did I Get in Shape?

I really don’t know if I check the box or not, but I certainly made progress, and my physique improved.

So let’s check the box 👍

The Extreme Challenge

It is a 90 days lifestyle challenge designed by me.

The fruit of everything good in life begins with a challenge.

Its purpose is to take extreme action and take control of your life.

The challenge is to achieve three big goals in 90 days by following a daily routine.

The Real Purpose Of The Challenge

Our main goal is to change our lives for the better.

After whatever challenge you go through, if you become a better version of yourself, your mindset improves, and your overall life situation gets better; consider it a win.

A Curve Represents The Effect of Challenges on Our Lives — Designed By ME

Even if you didn’t check all boxes, progress is what matters.

That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t aim to check them all.

Try it Yourself

I invite you to take massive action and take control over your life, and going through a tough challenge is an excellent way to do so.

Click here to get a Notion template of THE EXTREME CHALLENGE.

Feel free to edit whatever you want and set your own rules.

Document

I highly recommend you document the journey on social media, Medium, or your journal.

Sharing your journey in public will hold you accountable and keep you excited to make more progress and share it with the world!

Track Your Progress

I use two apps to track my progress.

Habitify: Is a habit-tracking app; use the paid version (lifetime premium); it’s cheap and will benefit you for the rest of your life. Consider it an investment.

TickTick: Is a task management tool; write down your to-do list there.

Use Habitify to track your daily tasks (and habits), and use TickTick to plan for your day and write tasks you want to complete.

Mistakes To Avoid

I made many mistakes doing this challenge, mainly because I decided to do it in a rush.

Take Your Time

Think wisely before you set your goals, don’t through random goals and run after them.

Give it some thought, and think about what you want to achieve and what you want to become after the challenge.

Prioritize

We all have many big goals we want to achieve; think about which are a priority and pick the ones that will make achieving other goals easier or unnecessary.

A Better Way of Setting Goals

Daily Routine

I included “reading 10 pages” in my daily routine; believe me, it wasn’t wise.

You don’t have to read every day; if you have enough knowledge, invest your time in taking action.

Include in your daily routine important and life-changing activities like sleeping well, workout…

And exclude stupid activities like reading 10 pages a day, it may work for some people, but it mostly won’t be wise for you.

Stay Focused

It is easy to get lost in a 90 days period, so make sure to write your goals on where you’ll be able to see them every day. Make sure to read them every time you see them.

A Curve Represents The Effect of Reminders on Focus — Designed By ME

Trust me; I wish I had done that; I lost track of most of the goals I set during the challenge.

--

--