Momentum over Rest

What Endures: Ideas I use every day — Part 4

Adam Al-Awami
2 min readMar 9, 2024

Procrastination can be deceptive at times. It can disguise itself in healthy, ‘optimal’ illusions.

If you look up “how to deal with procrastination”, you may find people advocating for certain structures and rhythms, like Pomodoro and time-blocking.

The problem I have with those structures is that they’re momentum-killers. And they’re like that because people forget why they resort to such things in the first place.

Photo by Daniel Chekalov on Unsplash

We struggle with starting more than continuing. When we have a little plan, like a Pomodoro style session (25 mins work, 5 mins rest) it helps us get our foot in the door, which is all that matters.

Other ways to do this would be:

  • Breaking it down into smaller tasks and picking the easiest thing to start with
  • Asking for advice or guidance (unknowns make getting started WAY harder)
  • Just doing it; don’t let the resistance build up. This is why working as soon as you wake up is easier for most people. Don’t think too much about it.

The one time I found a great use for the Pomodoro Technique was when I worked on a personal project for 11 hours in one setting. I’d sit down for 30 minutes, do the thing, then go out and walk in our front yard for 5 minutes. I’d go grab a little snack, drink something, talk with family, etc. Nothing that would hold my dopamine receptors hostage like social media.

But most things I wanted to do didn’t take 11 continuous hours to complete, so that was the last time I felt the need for such a rhythm. What I needed most of the time was just getting the ball rolling, even at a snail’s pace, and I believe this is the case for most people.

If you’re locked-in and you’re feeling alright, keep the ball rolling. Don’t stop to take a break you don’t need.

TLDR: Momentum Over Rest.

This is part 4 in my new series of stuff I find useful every day. I call it “What Endures.” Stay on the lookout for more!

--

--

Adam Al-Awami

Teacher, copywriter and pianist. I write about people and systems. Open to remote work. Contact me at Adamalawami999@gmail.com