The Life-Changing Value of Every Small Step

How valuing the small steps propels us towards big ones

Avigail Laing
The Personal Growth Project

--

Photo by NEOM on Unsplash

“The man who moves a mountain begins by carrying away small stones.” — Confucius

We are plagued by the curse of perfectionism, the idea that you should either do all of it or none of it.

When I woke up at 2:00 PM today (again, I have no idea what is wrong with me), I remembered that I needed to:

  • Write multiple college essays
  • Do my laundry (and fold it too)
  • Write two newsletters
  • Complete two 75 Hard workouts
  • Drink a gallon of water
  • Prepare my stuff for school tomorrow

…all before trying to go to bed at 9:30 PM.

This was mildly stressful, and it felt like there was no chance at all of me making progress towards my goals today.

But small steps are infinitely better than no steps, because small steps help you build momentum.

I wasn’t able to finish all of my work before 9:30 PM, but I still did finish all of my work before midnight.

--

--

Avigail Laing
The Personal Growth Project

Motivational speaker, author to be, and host of "The Personal Growth Project" podcast. Fusing faith & self-improvement. 🌷🕊✨