Why You Should Stop Scrolling and Go for a Walk

Matthis Rousselle
The Personal Growth Project
5 min readMar 24, 2024
Photo by Steven Coffey on Unsplash

How many times have I found myself feeling depressed during weekends, feeling tired, unable to work, or come up with ideas? Too often.

To remedy this, I developed a habit that literally changed my life. Every Saturday morning, after enjoying my coffee, I go for an hour-long walk in the countryside.

It’s a moment where I reconnect with myself and nature. In this article, I’m going to explain why walking is the most beneficial activity for your personal elevation and professional development.

Physical Benefits of Walking

Photo by Arek Adeoye on Unsplash

Walking is much more than just a physical activity; it’s a natural remedy for many ailments linked to our sedentary lifestyle. When I get up every Saturday for my walk, I feel an energy boost and a notable improvement in my physical health.

  • Combatting Sedentariness: Our bodies are not made to sit all day. Sedentariness, often linked to our office jobs and lifestyle habits, increases the risk of cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, and other health problems. Regular walking helps counter these risks.
  • Overall Health Improvement: Walking stimulates blood circulation, strengthens the heart, and increases lung capacity. It’s a low-impact exercise that can be practiced by almost anyone, regardless of age or physical condition.
  • Vitamin D and Fresh Air: Going out for a walk exposes me to natural light, essential for the synthesis of vitamin D in our body. This vitamin plays a crucial role in maintaining bone health and the immune system.

Mental Benefits of Disconnecting and Walking

People can’t disconnect in 2024, Generated by AI, with Adobe AI Firefly

Beyond physical advantages, walking is an excellent way to clear my thoughts and improve my mental well-being. Temporary disconnection from screens and contact with nature have a calming and revitalizing effect on the mind.

  • Mind Clearance: Walking allows me to take a break from my daily routines and decompress. It’s a time when I can reflect, meditate, or just let my mind wander without the constant pressure of notifications and digital distractions.
  • Effects of Sunlight on Mood: Natural sunlight has a positive effect on our mood. It helps regulate our biological clock and can improve symptoms of seasonal depression. A simple walk in the sun can thus significantly contribute to our daily happiness.
  • Stress Reduction: Walking helps me reduce my stress levels. Physically moving allows me to release accumulated tensions and approach situations with a calmer and clearer mind.

Walking as a Source of Inspiration

Taking Notes when you walk, on Adobe Stock

Every time I go for a walk, I find myself flooded with new ideas and perspectives. Walking is not just an exercise for the body, but also for the mind, especially for creatives and designers.

  • Creative Stimulation: When I walk, my mind is freed from usual constraints, and I often find myself thinking more creatively. Ideas seem to flow more freely, away from the usual distractions of work and daily life.
  • Observation and Connection: While walking, I observe the world around me. This active observation fuels my creativity. I see patterns in nature, structures in urban architecture, and interactions between people, all of which can transform into design elements or innovative concepts.
  • Finding Ideas in Calm: There is something profoundly inspiring about being alone with one’s thoughts. This tranquility of mind often allows the discovery of ideas that the constant noise of our daily environment can stifle.

Great Minds and Walking

a great Philosopher, Generated by AI, with Adobe AI Firefly

History is rich with examples of great thinkers and creators who found walking to be a source of inspiration and innovation.

  • Einstein, Socrates, and Others: Personalities like Albert Einstein and philosopher Socrates were known for their long walks, which allowed them to reflect and conceptualize. These moments of solitude and movement were essential to their creative process.
  • Philosophers and Scientists: Many philosophers and scientists used walking as a means to stimulate their thinking. This practice allowed them to break down complex problems, generate new theories, and contemplate profound questions.
  • The Legacy of Walking in Thought: Walking has long been a tool for thinkers to connect more deeply with their ideas. It has helped shape concepts and perspectives that have had a lasting impact on our world.

Born to Walk, A Deep Connection with Our History

Photo by Josue Michel on Unsplash

Walking is an inherently human activity, rooted in our evolution and history. When walking, we reconnect with a fundamental part of our being.

  • Evolutionary Roots: Since the earliest humans, walking has been a key element of our survival and development. Our ancestors traveled long distances for hunting, moving, and exploring. This regular physical activity was essential to their health and well-being.
  • Walking and Health: Over time, the ability to walk long distances shaped our anatomy and physical capabilities. Walking is thus a natural activity that respects our biology and contributes to our overall health.
  • Connection with Nature: Walking allows us to reconnect with nature and our origins. It’s an activity that lets us feel more connected to our environment and our own bodies.

Stop scrolling on your screens for a moment and give yourself time to walk. Whether it’s to improve your physical health, clear your thoughts, stimulate your creativity, or simply reconnect with your evolutionary history, walking offers a multitude of benefits.

It reminds us that sometimes, the answers and inspiration we seek are not found behind a screen, but in the steps we take exploring the world around us. So, the next time you feel stuck or drained, remember: stop scrolling, and go for a walk.

Don’t hesitate to clap 👏 if you enjoyed this article and subscribe; I share a new story every day. ✍🏻

You can also follow me on Threads, Youtube, or Instagram, where I regularly post content. 📹

Lastly, if you’re interested in receiving free and personalized tips, simply join my newsletter. 📩

--

--

Matthis Rousselle
The Personal Growth Project

French passionate designer, I share online tips on blending productivity and UX/UI. 💡✨