Why Your Life Never Changes On January 1st (& How To Fix That)

Breaking the yearly cycle of wishful thinking to create true, long-lasting transformation

Avigail Laing
The Personal Growth Project

--

Photo by Erik Karits on Pexels

Let’s talk about goals.

I used to be the kind of person to try to change my life completely on the first of January every year.

But now, I have matured and realized that true, long-lasting change comes in small steps and mental shifts.

If we try to change our entire life on January 1st, it usually backfires.

As mere mortals, we’re bound to make a mistake within a few days, and because of the unrealistic expectations we’ve set for ourselves, we now feel immense shame and guilt that demoralizes and demotivates us.

This is not the way; self-improvement from a place of shame, pressure, and desperation rarely lasts longer than a month.

Here’s how to fix it.

We can take a gentle, cheerful, and optimistic approach to the New Year and have much better results.

I no longer see January 1st as an intense deadline for getting my life together and reforming all of my flaws.

Instead, I see it as a fresh start, an exciting opportunity for rebirth.

--

--

Avigail Laing
The Personal Growth Project

Motivational speaker, author to be, and host of "The Personal Growth Project" podcast. Fusing faith & self-improvement. 🌷🕊✨