London Admingling Was Amazing And I Experienced It In Person

Melissa Smith
The Personal Virtual Assistant

--

Every year I get excited for Administrative Professional’s Week. This year I was in Morocco and the week was not the same at all. My favorite event is Admin Bash in San Francisco hosted by OfficeNinjas. Normally I fly across the country to attend. This year flying across the world wasn’t possible for me. However, OfficeNinjas Admingling just became an international event so it was a short flight from Barcelona to London!

If you’re wondering what is so special about the events, it is getting to meet and mingle in person with those who I only get to see once a year. Or finally, meet someone you’ve been chatting with online. The concept of being friends, good friends, before you’ve ever met in person is becoming more common. While it proves you can work well with someone remotely if given the opportunity why would you pass it up?

There is a misconception that virtual assistants and other remote workers prefer to be alone and work alone. That is simply not true. We prefer to have flexibility and freedom. In fact, we love meeting new people and learning what projects they are working on.

Everyone needs time to ditch what they’re doing and recharge their working batteries. It’s important to get fired up about the work you do. This is how I do it. Getting out and meeting people in real life. It was just what I needed as I have been traveling country to country this year.

As usual, OfficeNinjas didn’t disappoint! I met with a diverse group of administrative professionals ranging in age, country of origin, job duties, and years of service. I learned so much about the differences between the United States and London, even more about the changes being made. In the end, I found myself inspired and ready to get back to work.

Leaving the event and getting on the Tube I wondered how many others could leave a networking and mingling event as excited as not only I was, but we all were. A lot of people I know dread events and networking. They feel like they are a waste of time and unnecessary. It’s sad really. I’m so very thankful for OfficeNinjas and the company they’ve built with me in mind.

As a virtual assistant, how do you recharge your working batteries? Are you a part of an organization or network that leaves you inspired and excited? Remember being virtual is great, but there are still opportunities well worth your time. In-person.

Because you can’t do it all yourself….Melissa Smith, The PVA is the bestselling author of Hire the Right Virtual Assistant and host of theAdmin to VA Summit. To learn more about working with a Virtual Assistant contact Melissa here.

--

--

Melissa Smith
The Personal Virtual Assistant

World traveler. Virtual Assistant Matchmaker. Remote Work Consultant. Entrepreneur. Bestselling Author. Mother. Sister. Daughter. Human. Everybody is somebody.