Thanksgiving Time

Emily Bensen-Abatangelo
The Philly Cheesesteak
3 min readDec 12, 2017

It is finally my favorite season! Thanksgiving and this season is my favorite time of the year! Why you ask? Because it is an entire day related to eating. As a self-proclaimed eating champion; thanksgiving is the best. An entire day devoted to eating is a day that is right for me. People that skip thanksgiving and go right to Christmas are the worst (sorry, but its true). Here is a look at Thanksgiving in my house and how my family preps for the day, and then celebrates.

Thanksgiving is the bigest because all day you just get to eat and lay around and see your family and see friends from high school and hide from others from high school that you don’t like! So much fun! There are so many courses during thanksgiving and the food possibilities are endless. At my house, thanksgiving is serious. My mom takes off from work the day before to clean the house and prep all the food. Thursday morning comes and with the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade on in the background, my family begins the cooking feast.

Our Thanksgiving feast always begins with chips and dip. My family are big fans of the classic potato chips with onion dip. We can go through bowls and bowls of it. My mom always throws some carrots, celery in there but they get pushed to the side (Its thanksgiving mom, let me live). Our fun appetizers continue with cheese and crackers, prosciutto and bread sticks, salami and more. This is the portion where i turn myself away from the chips and down as many little pieces of salami as possible. As the day goes on, frequent breaks are taken to make sure that there is room for the main course; TURKEY! My dad likes to play Top Chef in our house and tries to make everything fancy and gourmet, sometimes it works, sometimes it backfires (we love him anyway). My whole family sits down at the table and starts passing. Turkey is obviously the main course, but lets not forget the sides. The sides are the cream of the crop. 3 words. Sweet potatoes and marshmallows….! The very best side ever! It is the best thing aside from gravy to dip your turkey in. If you have not tried this, shame on you, and you need to. The classic mashed potatoes make their way around too and I will take huge gallops of mashed potatoes. The classic veggies are there too, my dad’s famous breadcrumbs and asparagus come around and those are great too. Stuffing makes it way and that is a nice little break between shoving turkey and potatoes down my throat. Cranberry sauce…that’s a no from me.

After dinner, everyone hates themselves and is embarrassed by how much we ate. We wait and debrief, then comes desert time! The next best part! Pies! Cookies! Brownies! More cookies! Ice cream! So much more that I also stuff myself with. Leftover Halloween candy also comes out (all the bad ones no one in my house eats so my mom hopes someone else will). Thanksgiving is just all around an amazing holiday and every year I look forward to coming together with my favorite people and do my favorite activity; eat!

Aside from my tangent about how much I love and adore eating and indulging, Thanksgiving is a time to reflect and think about how thankful we are for the things we have, and the memories we get to share. Aside from the food, every Thanksgiving, my family goes around the room to say what we are thankful for. Sometimes we loose site of the important things in life, and focus on the negative and the mishaps. The type of mind set we have during this season is the the type we should have all year. Being thankful for what we have, and trying our best to give to others who are not as fortunate.

--

--