Students Create Their Own Tattoos In New Criminal Justice Class

Josephine Chiba
The Philly Melting Pot
6 min readDec 5, 2017

A unique class taught at Chestnut Hill College is currently exploring the cultural and artistic implications of body art by creating their own tattoos and putting them on display on a pair of mannequins located in Logue Library.

Lauren Barrow, Ph.D., assistant professor of criminal justice, teaches a special topics course called “Social Construction of Deviance Through Tattoo Art,” in which students examine the history, culture, art, and misconceptions of tattoos.

“In short, this project explores the historical significance of using one’s body as a canvas, from tribal war paint to modern day body art,” wrote Barrow in her project proposal. “It seeks to introduce students to art from an unfamiliar vantage point and relies heavily upon the shifting social definitions of “deviance” in the presentation of the information.”

According to Barrow, this class is designed to challenge society’s perception of tattoos as bad or criminal, and to bring to light the social constructs that influence our opinions, at a personal or institutional level. The students will examine the arbitrary — and even irrational — connection between the concepts of deviance and tattoos and seek to understand how that association was built.

“We tend not to think of deviance as a good thing, but actually there is good deviance,” said Barrow. “If you can deviate from the norm by going under the norm, then, by definition, you can go above it.”

Although Barrow deals with tattoo art within the framework of the criminal justice field, discussing things such as gang affiliations and symbolism, she ultimately wants the class to transcend the negative narrative on tattoos. The end of the course will shift towards an examination of tattoos as “good deviance” and how they can be artistic, therapeutic, and medical expressions of alternative identities.

“I think my favorite part is learning about the deviance aspect because we realize that deviance is only created by the people in power,” said Victoria Fuller, a sophomore studying criminal justice. “Like, things are only in existence because we make them to be and they don’t have to be like that.”

As part of their final course assignment, Barrow asked students to create one of their own tattoos on paper and then transfer it onto one of the mannequins. Each student was randomly assigned a body part for their tattoo and their artwork is supposed to be anonymous.

The mannequins, named Kat Von D, after the tattooed television personality who first became famous on LA Ink, and Otzi, after the tattoo-covered natural mummy discovered in 1991 that was carbon-dated back to 3300 BCE, are located in the front lobby of Logue Library.

“Students were asked to create an image, a tattoo, that says something about themselves they would not offer in conversation,” said Barrow, who also hopes this project will build a deeper appreciation of tattooing as an art form. “The idea is that what looks good one-dimensionally may not necessarily translate very well on a different canvas, and the canvas is the body.”

Students are first sketching their designs on paper and then using tracing paper and markers to place it on the mannequins. Hairspray will be used to set their outlines so they doesn’t smear or distort.

As the students workshopped their tattoos, they had to keep in mind muscle alignments and body movements as well as other artistic elements concerning color, light, and lines.

Barrow stated that she values the self expression and artistic aspects of the course, a component that has resonated with many of the students as well.

Alex Wall, a junior in Barrow’s class studying psychology, stated that drawing and transferring her tattoo onto the mannequins has been her favorite part of the course.

“It’s been an interesting process just because I had so many ideas, I had a hard time narrowing it down,” said Wall, who was assigned the male ribs as her canvas. “But eventually I just figured I can combine all the ideas into one. It was definitely a fun process and I’d love to do it again.”

Other students also struggled with the content of their tattoo and were not exactly sure how to accurately capture something so personal in a single image.

“It was really hard at first because I didn’t know what I wanted to say in my tattoo,” said Fuller. “So it was a lot of thinking and then reflecting on who I am and like what I want people to know about me, so that was kind of hard.”

“I’m a police officer so I just wanted to do something that was kind of related to police and like memories,” said Sevorino Butera, a sophomore studying criminal justice. Butera originally wanted to draw his tattoo on the male chest or back but was assigned the male upper leg. Barrow purposefully assigned random body parts because she wanted students to better understand the tattooing process and artists typically do not choose the placement of their work.

Butera ’20 pictured on the left coloring in his tattoo.

“I wanted the upper chest of the male or like the male arm, but my body part is okay,” said Fuller, who was assigned the female torso. “I felt like my tattoo has relevance to me and like what I believe in so I wanted it close to my heart. I know that sounds a little corny but I just wanted it to be there because I feel like that’s where it came from when I created it.”

Some students stated that this project has challenged their preconceived notions about tattoos and fine art and also the way that they think about themselves.

“I’ve never really thought about getting [a tattoo] but like I could get one maybe after I took the class,” said Butera. “It would have to mean something though. It wouldn’t just be a random tattoo.”

Unlike Butera, Fuller knows she doesn’t want any tattoos in the future but does not judge the people that do want or have them.

“I think my views about tattoos have changed because I was usually a little close-minded about tattoos because I don’t have any myself.”

“Almost sixty percent of the students admitted that there was a large part of their personality they kept secret,” said Barrow. “And I thought that was really fascinating. I’m asking them to do something pretty astonishing by bringing it forward and creating a safe place where they feel they can do that.”

Students have started sketching their tattoos on the mannequins, and by finals time, Otzi and Kat should be fully covered.

Barrow is working on making sure she can bring back the course in semesters to come. She hopes to be able to collaborate with the art department to be able to fully explore the artistic elements of body modification and other forms of alternative canvases like graffiti.

“It’s a fascinating course and this is only the first time its been done so I can’t help but wonder how much it’s going to change and grow and expand next time,” said Wall. “It was one of the best courses I’ve taken, I’d say.”

--

--

Josephine Chiba
The Philly Melting Pot

Former Editor-In-Chief of The Griffin Student Newspaper Chestnut Hill College ’18 | Political Science and Journalism