Book Club: Xenophon’s Memorabilia, part II, Socrates teaches a lesson to his son

Figs in Winter
The Labyrinth
Published in
5 min readMay 11, 2020

--

Xenophon

It has been some time since we discussed the first book of Xenophon’s Memorabilia, a biographical account of Socrates that, among other things, inspired Zeno of Citium (the founder of Stoicism) to get into philosophy. I will try to be more consistent and roll out future installations in a timely fashion.

As usual, Xenophon presents us with a number of short vignettes from Socrates’ life, always interacting with some fellow Athenian, always asking probing questions. I have to admit that I am enjoying Xenophon’s writing style more than Plato’s. Moreover, I am getting the sense that I am encountering the real Socrates here, not just Plato’s mouthpiece. Indeed, in some cases Socrates’ approach as portrayed by Xenophon seems to be at odds with the picture that emerges from the Socratic dialogues, and Xenophon’s version makes more sense, at least to me.

The episode I want to focus on from book II is a conversation that Socrates has with his eldest son, Lamprocles, regarding the latter’s attitude toward his mother, Xanthippe. Socrates begins by addressing Lamprocles in this way:

“Tell me, my boy, do you know that some men are called ungrateful?” (II.2.1)

--

--

Figs in Winter
The Labyrinth

by Massimo Pigliucci. New Stoicism and Beyond. Entirely AI free.