The Most Powerful Quote Alan Watts Ever Spoke (That Reduced My Anger Forever)

Use it to become peaceful and free.

Alberto García 🚀🚀🚀
The Philosophical Inn

--

Photo by Kouroosh Mohebbi on Unsplash

I’ve had high levels of anger for most of my life.

The reason? Because I used people like hammers (but not to build but to make myself shit.)

A hammer is used to hammer a nail, hang a picture, or knock off a finger if you don’t pay attention.

I chose to destroy myself and then blame the hammer until I heard a phrase from Alan Watts.

Alan Watts’ quote that slapped me in the face.

“It is other people who teach us who we are. Their attitudes toward us mirror how we learn to see ourselves, but that mirror distorts us.” — Alan Watts.

At first, I thought, “If people are always against me, then I’m the f*cking enemy.”

But then I remembered the part where he said, “That mirror distorts us.”

Ergo, from seeing myself reflected in others so much, I ended up believing their criticisms and bad words towards me; that’s why I distorted the image I had of myself, and that’s why I lost my self-esteem. That’s why I was always defensive and…

--

--