Three Dark Truths I Learned From a 92-Year-Old Writer That Blew My Mind

#Dark Truth 1: Don’t do what winners do if you want to win.

Alberto García 🚀🚀🚀
The Philosophical Inn

--

Photo by Andreea Avramescu on Unsplash

Writing is like parachute jumping. Some do it for sport, and those who do it out of necessity when the plane that was their life is about to crash.

I am one of the former because I have been one of the latter.

Writing saved me. That’s why I read other parachutists (writers) in search of the black boxes of their crashed planes.

One of those beautiful black boxes full of wisdom is that of the recently deceased Alice Munro (Nobel Prize in Literature), who was 92 years old.

She did not give a speech when she received the Nobel award in 2013 but did give an interview to the organization at her home.

From it, I extract these dark but valuable truths.

Dark Truth 1: Don’t do what winners do if you want to win

“I believe that any life can be interesting, any environment can be interesting.” — Alice Munro.

God planted you where you are for a reason.

--

--