Three Quick Quotes From Alan Watts That Helped Me Master the Subtle Art of Letting Go

Lessons from one of the wise thinkers of the twentieth century.

Alberto García 🚀🚀🚀
The Philosophical Inn

--

Photo by Kitera Dent on Unsplash

Today, I ran into a childhood friend; she was crying.

She was dressed in pieces of a withered dream that refuses to die: a sequined fanny pack (more flashy than a disco ball), a work uniform, a rock star haircut with pink and blonde Californian highlights, and safety boots for working in a supermarket.

She asked me, “Why do I suffer so much?”

I didn’t want to answer so as not to hurt her. I hugged her.

But I knew the answer: there are dreams that you have to let die so that others can be born.

But it’s not easy. Not even for me, who practices detachment as a way of life.

Because of that, I want to share a few quotes from Alan Watts, which I am reminded of every time I cannot kill an old dream that is killing me.

1. The problematic art of detachment

“If happiness always depends on something you hope to achieve in the future, in reality you are chasing a chimera that will always be out of…

--

--