After The Rain (Sunset, Lancaster and East 7th)

Photolalia (Hamish Reid)
The Photolalia
Published in
1 min readMay 17, 2016
Photo: Hamish Reid.

One of those “the best camera is the one you’ve got on you at the time…” shots. In this case, of course, it’s my iPhone, and I’d ridden my bicycle past this sight in the Fruitvale district of Oakland, California, on the way to work that morning, thinking it looked cool, but the light was in the wrong place, and I thought I’d never be back in time later that day to do it when the light was in the right place — and in a day or two the flooding would be gone anyway. But I got off work early, and there it was.

I go past this building almost every day, one way or another, and until recently it housed a working business; but now it’s up for sale or lease, and gentrification can’t be far off (just like much of the rest of my neighbourhood).

I can’t help wondering how long it’ll be before this place ends up in another Now And Then article here….

--

--