No Words Tell All

Christiann Stout
The Pillars
Published in
7 min readAug 10, 2022

--

Master communication through nonverbal coding

Author’s father, John Schmidt. A master at angry-face. Copyright 2016, C. A. Schmidt

The guy in the header photo is my dad. He was a master at expressing emotion with a glance. Here, you see his “angry” stare. I had him pose for several of these facial expression photos for my book, No Words. He was a great model.

But most of us are not so great when it comes to nonverbal communication.

I’ve written a few articles about communication. In the first article I published here on Medium, I introduced you to communication. Then, I listed the rules of communication. I also told you all about noise. But, we have yet to discuss the codes used in communication: verbal and nonverbal coding.

While I could write for a year about verbal coding, I suspect you spent years learning how to spell, how to craft cogent sentences in accordance with grammar rules, and how to increase your vocabulary. Perhaps I’ll add a few pointers in a future article. But, frankly, language professors have verbal coding covered.

My briar patch is nonverbal coding. I find the symbolic nature of nonverbal communication fascinating — so I’d like to share some of that information with you. As schools ignore the study of nonverbal communication, while focusing on spelling, vocabulary, and writing, you may not have any training in nonverbal communication. And that oversight is criminal.

--

--

Christiann Stout
The Pillars

Catholic author, professor, photography, and (recovering!) attorney. Faith, Focus, and Finding Your Light: A Life in Progress.