Dwight Howard Wearing New Number in Atlanta

Mason Brown
The Pine
Published in
1 min readJul 14, 2016

On Wednesday, the Atlanta Hawks introduced their new center Dwight Howard, who they signed for 3 years $70.5 million. Howard, an Atlanta native, is changing his number to 8 after wearing 12 for the entirety of his career (Magic, Lakers, Rockets). Howard even got a little bit choked up during the press conference, but made light of it:

“This is a real new beginning for me, and I’m happy to share it with my loved ones … Oh boy, I know they’re gonna clown on me later. There’s gonna be some memes.”

Good call Dwight. While we don’t care enough about you to give you a crying meme, we’ll still find a way to make fun of you, and the number change sufficed.

Jokes aside, I’m with the number change. I wouldn’t have gone with #8 personally, but at least it isn’t some stupidity like #17 or #13. Best choice would have been #5 or #6 in my opinion. Otherwise, think Dwight just might find a bit of success with the Hawks, so good for him.

--

--

Mason Brown
The Pine

Firm believer that a Crying Jordan will one day hang in The Louvre.