My WordPress Migration Process Sucked

But I am optimistic

Ichi Kanaya
The Pineapple
1 min readMay 14, 2016

--

I’m under the process of migrating my blog on Tumblr to Medium’s publication. I set up a free account on WordPress.com and connected it to my Tumblr account, imported the whole blog posts to this intermediate WordPress blog, then exported the posts to XML file. The blog archie was divided in five XML files.

Then I started up the migration tool of Medium, found the first two of five XML files were successfully uploaded. But right after I started processing the third XML file, the migration tool went to sleep. I retried uploading several times, and then googled around. First thing I knew was that the migration tool possibly had a rate limit.

At last, I found the right answer at the right place, GitHub! As far as I understand, they are fixing up this problem. The latest comment was dated only 9 days ago. They are tackling this problem!

I started following https://github.com/Medium/medium-wordpress-plugin and waiting for, say, a couple of days to retry migration. If I would still have the same problem, I would post some hopefully-useful comment to GitHub.

--

--