3 Ways Being Bullied As A Kid Made Me A Stronger Adult

There are things I no longer tolerate

Tosin Sanusi
The Pink

--

Photo credit: Godisable Jacob on Pexels

I used to be a childcare worker at multiple schools in my city. On the job, I got to observe how children navigate social situations that many adults still struggle with. As you can imagine, bullying was a common occurrence. One incident was unforgettable.

I was working an after-school shift at a program with lots of conflict and issues with respect. I noticed one young man who was singled out repeatedly and called a name he obviously didn’t like.

Throughout my shift, I watched him endure relentless taunting that continued even with verbal warnings and eventually, reprimands from myself and the other workers.

I could tell the poor kid had reached his boiling point when during a spat, he screamed at the top of his lungs “Stop!” the other children laughed. “Six years!”, he continued. “I’m so tired of this”.

I heard someone who had been tortured every day for years in a place where they were supposed to be safe. The group leader saw an unnecessarily belligerent child who deserved a time-out.

The striking part of that experience wasn’t his outburst — anyone who works in childcare knows that those are an almost daily reality. The way my coworker reacted is what caught…

--

--

Tosin Sanusi
The Pink

Devoted cat mother. Sagittarius lady. Lifelong learner. Lover of food. tosinsanusiwriter.com