I Miss You

When friendships take different paths

Ali Hall
The Pink

--

Photo by Sam Manns on Unsplash

I miss you. I miss us.

I miss what we had and how we were.

When you announced your big news, I was simultaneously delighted for you and devastated for myself. Your future was on the path to your version of fulfillment and happiness. I feared it would change us.

I knew our lives were diverging, and we would walk in different directions. Yes, I was truly happy for you, but I felt sadness in the pit of my stomach. Things would never be the same again.

The Steady Creep

You said things wouldn’t change between us. But I knew differently. I have been here many times. I didn’t realize quite how different they would become, though. I guess I had more faith in our friendship than it merited.

Before long, your whole conversation circles around what is to come. I understand this; it was an exciting and nerve-wracking time for you. Despite my tokophobia, I showed an interest and listened. At the same time, my heart sank. It seemed you had lost all interest in me and my life. This disinterest became more established over time.

I felt myself fading in your presence.

Opposites Can Attract

--

--

Ali Hall
The Pink

✍Well-being, feminism & personal growth. Childfree & owner of Life Without Children. Lover of trail running & dogs. Also at abnormallynormal.substack.com