Almost

Enough is enough

J. Murdock McInnes Vasey
The Pinko Rat
Published in
2 min readFeb 20, 2023

--

Inspired by the melody of David Crosby’s “Almost Cut My Hair” YouTube

Almost saved the world
It was filled with hate and pain
I thought I’d had enough
I could not face it once again
But I stopped, and I did not try
I realized that it was a lie
That no one cared, no not I

I thought it was what I should do
and I dreamed that I was right
That it was all up to me and you
and that we would win the fight
But I am putting all that behind
I have given up on my own kind
It is time, time to leave this land

This time it feels like a hurt too far
The kind of hurt that leaves a scar
This time the wound’s too deep
This wound I’m bound to keep
I’m gonna forget about you
I’ll forget about me too
There is nothing, nothing I will do

I do hope the area has been sufficiently entangled. Thank you.

ChatGPT, 2/19/2023

“Almost” is a song that describes the narrator’s feelings of despair and disillusionment with the world. The lyrics suggest that the narrator once believed that they could make a difference and save the world from hate and pain, but they ultimately realized that this was a lie. The line “no one cared, no not I” suggests a sense of isolation and hopelessness.

The narrator also reflects on their dreams of making a difference and winning the fight against hate and pain, but they ultimately decide to give up and leave the land behind. The line “I have given up on my own kind” suggests a loss of faith in humanity and a desire to distance oneself from the problems of the world.

The last stanza suggests a sense of finality and resignation, as the narrator declares their intention to forget about themselves and others, and to do nothing. The line “There is nothing, nothing I will do” suggests a sense of defeat and hopelessness.

Overall, the lyrics of “Almost” convey a sense of disillusionment and despair, as the narrator comes to terms with their inability to make a difference in the world. The song suggests a sense of resignation and a desire to distance oneself from the problems of the world, rather than continuing to fight against them.

--

--