Fade Away

J. Murdock McInnes Vasey
The Pinko Rat
1 min readMar 3, 2022

--

Marie my dear old friend
don’t look away, no don’t pretend
Yes, it’s me behind these eyes,
it’s good to see you in the end.

They say I lost control,
my life did not go well.
My habits took their toll
and I could not break their spell

I am not asking you for money
and you don’t need to stay too long
Just sit with me a while
and we will sing that same old song

It’s the one you sang to me
It was your favorite that first day
On that day I could not see
there was no chance that you would stay

Once they told me you were gone
I lost the will to carry on
I left my home, I lost my place
And now my life has left no trace

I walked for years with no hope
and in time forgot the song
Time passed and I grew old
and too tired to go home

Now look at me, there’s not much left
I am smaller every day
My thoughts are slow and very few
I only wish to fade away

--

--